OSUTECH Might Be Re-Named After Late Agagu

The Ondo state chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party [PDP] yesterday began what it has termed ”celebration of life and death” of the late former Governor, Olusegun Agagu who died last week Friday in Lagos state.

It urged the state government to immortalise the deceased by naming some projects, particularly the Ondo State University of Science and Technology[OSUSTECH] Okitipupa after him.

Speaking with reporters at the party’s secretariat,Oyemekun road, Akure,the state capital, its Chairman, Mr Ebenezer said the party has constituted a 50-man burial committee to facilitate a befitting burial for the late political leader and academician.

Ebenezer, who was supported by PDP governorship candidate, Chief Olusola Oke, his deputy, Saka Lawal, former PDP State Chairman, Dr Tayo Dairo,former Head of Service [HoS] Alaba Isijola and former Commissioner,Otunba Omoniyi Omodara among others, said the committee would be headed by former Deputy Speaker, Hon. Mayowa Akinfolarin.

According to him,” For a man who served the people diligently and without blemish, nothing will be too much to honour him. We will celebrate Agagu to the maximum and to the best of our abilities as a wonderful gift to Ondo state”

While commending the state government for promising a state burial for the immediate past governor of the state, Alabi however said it was a statutory right that is accorded all late former governors

He noted that as a mark of honour to late Agagu, the state government should complete all projects initiated by the deceased, such as ultra modern stadium, Owena Multipurpose Water Dam Reticulation Project,
International Golf Course,
Idanre, Okiti-pupa-Ayeka-Irele road, Olokola Free Trade Zone and Sea Port Project among many others.

Besides, the party proposed that Fiwasaye-Ado-Owo road or Isinkan-Ondo road and Ore-Okitipupa highway should be renamed Olusegun Agagu freeway,stressing that the late former governor landmark developmental projects, prudence and modern touch to governance would remain a golden era in the history of the state.

The PDP chairman said the burial committee was without prejudice to the state burial committee being proposed and planned by the Agagus and the state government,stressing that it was not designed to run at cross purposes with other plans.

He added that it would dissolve into various sub-committees such as Finance, Contact and Mobilisation, Publicity, Security and others.
Members of the Committee will include, Hon Agboola Ajayi, Dele Osakuade, Felix Ogunmilade, Mrs Kudi Obayan, Otunba Omoniyi Omodara among others, while Mr Afolabi Akinbowale would serve as the secretary.

Share This Piece With Your Friends On
Facebook And Twitter

Don’t Miss Our Updates On BBM 21637D3A

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s